+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Just started new project - 1959 Skyliner rebuild

Just started new project - 1959 Skyliner rebuild

A couple of days ago I bought a 1959 Skyliner. I've been looking for several months and think I have a project I can handle (with some helpful advice from you folks).
    I have sent my application in to join this club and the office lady said she would send me a book on the top.
    To get you up to speed without typing a bunch. since I am a computer consultant, I have a website with my other cars on it. The Skyliner is the newest Ford I own. You are welcome to check it out at http://dunlavy.us.
    The left tab takes you to the other Fords I have restored or built and own. Feel free to look around, I have nothing to hide.
    The only question I have now is: in what order I should tackle the project? Since it runs, I thought I'd rebuilt the top motors and drives and make the top run manually (and re-install the trunk lid). I'll be checking the engine/chassis (brakes,etc) next - it has no shocks now. It looks like the underside has be restored, but I haven't put it on the hoist yet. I am blessed with a fantastic shop - I know that - and say a prayer every day of thanks. Also have a very understanding wife. Look forward to meeting you guys and getting to know you.
    Cheers,
    Dave Dunlavy
    Decorah, Iowa USA

Welcome Dave

Welcome to the forum Dave. Lots of very knowledgeable people in the club to help you with your project - although sometimes the response time on this forum leaves something to be desired! Anyway, best of luck with the restore. I have a '59 as well and really enjoy the car. Consider joining a regional chapter of the Skyliner club. Some really great people in the Northland chapter.

I don't know where to find the Northland Chapter. Please send me an email with contact information. My daughter lives in Orono, MN.
    Thanks, Dave